Running is for the dogs...and daisies...and babies...

Jason Werling
Mar 7, 2013

Good news, the Firelands Area Runners have posted their schedule for the upcoming 5k/10k/run/walk season and it can be found at their website. The proceeds from a couple of runs that are coming up will help a couple of local animal shelters.

The Humane Society of Erie County's run is scheduled for April 13 and the Daisy Run 5k in Marblehead will help support the Island Safe Harbor Animal Sanctuary and the Newtown Community Fund. I have updated the calendar below and make sure you check out the link to the upcoming FAR races.

Also, we have to change the date for the FIT Challenge 5k. It will be in May, but the 19th wasn't going to work out for all of our challengers nor our volunteers. I will keep you all posted on the new date/time and also when we will be having some walks to get ready for the run. E-mail me at werling@sanduskyregister.com if you are interested in meeting and walking with us.

And, as always, send me your race/walk/fitness event information and I will add it to our calendar.

Upcoming events (click on the race for more information)

Saturday, March 23: Melt the Ice 5k, Fremont
Saturday, March 23: Christie Lane 5K, Norwalk
Saturday, April 13: Humane Society of Erie County 5k Run/Walk, Sandusky (Entry form is below)
Saturday, April 13: Zumbathon with Kirsi Hemphill, Briar Middle School
Saturday and Sunday, April 27/28: Tough Mudder, Mansfield
Sunday, April 28: Clyde Lion's Club 5K Bubba's Battle, Clyde
Saturday, May 4: March for Babies, Shoreline Park
Saturday, May 4: Lighthouse 10mile & 5K, Huron
Sunday, May 5: KLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ Bike Ride, Huron
Saturday, May 11: Daisy Run 5K, Marblehead
Saturday, May 18: Maumee Valley Tri-Adventure Race, Defiance
Saturday and Sunday, May 18/19: Rite Aid Cleveland Marathon, Half Marathon, 10k, 5k
Some day in May: FIT Challenge 5k Walk/Run
Saturday, May 25: Jon Martin Memorial 5k & 10k, Bellevue
Saturday, May 25: Zombie Run for your Lives, Logan
Saturday, June 1: Warrior Dash, Butler
Sunday, June 9: Kelleys Island 5k/10k (There will be a special Goodtime Cruise to and from the island in memory of Chris Smith)
Saturday, June 15: 35th Annual Camelback 5k/10k, Fremont
Sunday, June 16: Chris Smith Memorial 5k Challenge, Cedar Point
Saturday, June 15: Savage Race, Zanesfield
Saturday, June 22: Team Jenny 5k, Fremont
Sunday, June 23: Norwalk Century Bicycle Ride (419) 663-6775. nikiraney@yahoo.com
Saturday & Sunday, June 29/30: Bike MS Reeves Northrup Memorial Bike to the Bay, Maumee
Sunday, July 20: White Star Triathlon, Gibsonburg
Saturday and Sunday, August 10/11: Warrior Dash, N. Lawrence
Saturday, August 17: Color Me Rad Race, Columbus
Sunday, September 29: Mason's Walk/Run, Osborne Park

Area race calendars
Firelands Area Runners
Fremont Elite Runners (Group runs and meetings every third Wednesday)

Click HERE and bookmark for a listing of "Chasing Jason" blogs

Comments

WiseManOnceSaid

Are the shelters no-kill shelters?